Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

They’ve all used pen names.  But this subterfuge doesn’t end with Rowling, King or Oates.  According to Belinda Pollard, self-publishing and writing advice blogger at smallbluedog.com, “Romance author Nora Roberts writes erotic thrillers as JD Robb. Horror and fantasy novelist Kim Wilkins uses the name Kimberley Freeman for women’s fiction. Some authors also separate their novels from their non-fiction by changing names.” Belinda, also a writer and professional editor, thinks all this may be too much work. Keeping separate accounts and enlisting followers in more than one place does seem tiresome, but the idea appeals to me.

Doris Lessing, Julian Barnes, and Joyce Carol Oates are among many acclaimed writers who have quietly pursued their art under a fake name,” Anna Maxted (Telegraph, UK) explains in an article about J.K. Rowling’s recent use of the pseudonym, Robert Galbraith.   Rowling, who according to her website found the experience liberating, was not happy with the leak.  “To say that I am disappointed is an understatement. I had assumed that I could expect total confidentiality from Russells, a reputable professional firm, and I feel very angry that my trust turned out to be misplaced,” she told the Associated Press.  Rowling, like Stephen King who wrote seven novels under the name Richard Bachman, are celebrity authors.  It can be gathered that their motivation to remain anonymous is to see how they fair removed from the lens of fame.  Money is theirs upon recognition but so is expectation.  But in these times, even the every-other-day blogger and ebook writer with any amount of fan base lives with the latter.  It is not necessary to write under more than one name, but if you’d like to write in different genres, I say why not?  No matter how small a following you have, your readers expect a certain type of writing when they see a certain name. 

I have therefore decided to try something out. I like writing in several genres. I’ve been told to pick one and stick to it. What for? I’m a writer. I have stories falling out of my head, dripping out  of my ears, and singing me to sleep at night.  I tend to lean in a handful of directions rather than a bucket full, but one type. It’s not going to happen. Not with me anyway.  So instead of trying to crush my writer’s sprit, I am going to do what many others have in the past, except for one thing. I’ll let you all know it.  Most people won’t care. They’ll only want to read and be done with it.  Some people are keen on facts and who’s who. That’s fine by me too.

So with all that said, I welcome  –

Allison Chaney – Poetry, Literary Fiction, Screenwriting, Blogging

Allison Whitmore – YA Romance, Historical Romance, Chick Lit

A.V. Arden – YA Fantasy  (usually but not always includes my two writing partners Virginia and Grace)

Done.   Confusing?  Self-imposed Dissociative Identity Disorder?  That’s fine. I’m a writer. I’m supposed to be a little nuts anyway.  For now, this is an experiment.  I can’t wait to try it out.  Cheers.

Image

